The Prayer of Availability

If the second way we hear from God is by working with Him, then we need to pray and set our hearts toward doing the work He has for us. The prayer of availability says, “Use me, I am yours.” It is the prayer of Isaiah, after his vision of the Lord, high and exalted in the temple.

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”
And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”    -Isaiah 6:8

It is a prayer of commitment to make our day filled with the work of God. We want to see all that we do as God’s work. We want to renounce frivolous activities that keep us busy avoiding what God is doing, and exchange them for a life of purposeful endeavoring for the kingdom of God.

If we see our jobs and families as part of our God-given vocation, then our prayers should be to that end.

A sample prayer of availability might sound like this:

Father,

Thank you for the job I am going to today. Thank you for the tasks you have put me in charge of. I know that as I work, I am ruling over your creation, just like You made me to do. Thank you for my co-workers. I know your will is for me to love them as I love myself. No matter what happens today, I want you to know that that is exactly what I will do. Let me not worry about how much or how little I earn. Let me trust you to care for my family’s needs so that my mind can focus solely on being available for you today. Give me the joy that comes from you when I am with my children and spouse after a long day. Help me not to give them the leftovers, but to show them the love of Christ. Amen.

Posted on December 23, 2016, in prayer. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

