Starting Over

What do you say after an almost-6-year hiatus from blogging? When I last wrote, my wife and I were moving from Wisconsin to Michigan. My pastoral experience was limited to two years of solo pastoring. 


Since then, my family has grown from the two of us to a family of five. We’ve been through the ups and downs of ministry in North Branch and we still love it here. I’ve received an MDiv from Wesley Seminary at IWU

I am still uncertain as to the purpose of this blog, what I’ll post, how often, etc. But you have to start somewhere, right? I think back to God creating humanity in His image. I get the feeling He did not say, “I don’t really have this figured out, but I have to start somewhere, right?” If anything, God’s words in Genesis 1:26-28 suggest He knew exactly what He was doing. He blessed humanity, told them to increase, and to rule over the created order, and gave them what they needed to accomplish just that by placing them in a garden where He would live with them. Out of relationship with their Creator, they would perfectly reflect His image into the created order. 

I love how Paul speaks of our own spiritual formation in Christ in Colossians 3:9-10: Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator. Part of what God is doing in me, and in us, is renewing us in knowledge in the image of our Creator. 

So while I don’t know exactly what I’ll post here–perhaps a mix of meditations on Scripture, theology, and the practice of spiritual formation for the local church–I know it will have something to do with what God is doing in me that I might better reflect His image in our world. It’s good to be back. 
Posted on April 23, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

