Snow in April

Today our backyard is covered in snow. The newspaper had a picture of a boy making a snowman’s belly that was bigger than he was. Yes, it’s April, post-Easter. This seemingly out-of-place snowfall reminds me of how God works in our lives.

The big metaphor Christians use is that God washes us white as snow. His forgiveness cleanses us. Even though spring is the season of new life, winter must come first. Forgiveness and cleansing comes before our new life in Christ.

So what’s this snow doing in the middle of spring? What’s this reminder of God’s forigiveness doing in the middle of our time of new life? I don’t know about you, but for me it’s a humbling experience. Snow on my sidewalk is humbling.

Because it shows me that even though I’ve been made new, I’ve not reached the prize. I’m not there yet. God still needs to forgive me for the times I slip…those unintentional sins, sins of infirmity. The ones I commit without even trying. I still need God’s forgiving power.

Praise God He’s not through with me yet! What about you?

Posted on April 12, 2007, in spiritual formation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

